I’ll talk to you in another life when we are both cats.

airplane

 

swans2

Volatile comes from the latin word volare-to fly. Originally it was used to reference a winged creature, such as a bird or butterly.
The act of flight is a familiar one to me, I’m an artist that has lived in more cities than I have phalanges.

I decided to start writing about my life and the many influences I encounter publically here. I intend to incorporate passages from my book, as well as the art and work of those around me in this blog. I hope you enjoy what you read.

So who am I?

me2

 

(Model: Me

Photographer: Gemma Fleming- http://www.gemmafleming.com)

My name is Mika, pronounced mee-kah. It’s short for the scandinavian name, Mikaela. I was born in Gothenburg, Sweden but I grew up in the Pacific Northwest with many summers and temporary stays in the E.U.

In the past 3 years I have traveled everywhere though, from Seattle to San Francisco to Los Angeles to Beijing to Florence (where I studied art). I am now living in New York while I finish the last few months of my degree.

 

china

ocean1

seattle21

florence

new-york

I began to contemplate my constant travel after the affects of living with no home for so long began to take a toll on me physically and mentally. I have met a lot of interesting characters in the process, including the main characters of this story now.

Was this constant travel a reaction to the deaths I had experienced in the past few years? Or was it merely a survival instinct?

me3

What uniform can I wear to hide my heavy heart? It is too heavy. It will always show. Jaques felt himself growing gloomy again. He was well aware that to live on earth a man must follow its fashions, and hearts were no longer worn. -Jean Cocteau

me21

 

Le loup criait sous les feuilles
En crachant les belles plumes
De son repas de volailles:
Comme lui je me consume.

-Arthur Rimbaud

to see more photos/etc go here-

http://www.flickr.com/photos/sheclimbeddownthetree

http://www.myspace.com/snoozekitten

~ by volatilestructure on February 23, 2009.

3 Responses to “I’ll talk to you in another life when we are both cats.”

  1. First! 😉
    Love ya MIKA!

  2. beautiful mika sharing the beauty and journey of her world<3
    i cant wait for your book lovey

    also –
    i been meaning to email you some short stories i have written….

    take care love

  3. what is doing that man in these days?
    talk us about ur book.. i want more information

    take care Mika

Leave a Reply

 
